Who We Are

Who We Are

Community Health Alliance Uganda (CHAU) is an alliance of grassroot organizations that supports community driven action on SRHR, HIV, Tuberculosis (TB) and other health issues in Uganda. Membership include National CSOs, grassroot organizations, CBOs, networks and PLHIV groups.

The Alliance began working in Uganda in 2005 through a Country Office and was registered in 2010 as a company limited by guarantee by the Registrar of Companies and re-branded as Community Health Alliance Uganda.. 

The organization is governed by the Board, and Senoir Management Team (SMT) and leadership headed by the Executive Director; and competent human resource. The organization boasts of robust financial, Human Resource, program and M&E systems. 

To date, with funding from USAID, DFID, DANIDA, SIDA, the EU and the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs, CHAU has attained a track record of successfully managing and implementing several programmes that reach the poorest ,most vulnerable and marginalised communities. 

CHAUs unique model champions the sub- county as the basic service delivery unit and brokers parrtnership between respective communities and service providers promoting social accountability. benefits of belonging to the Alliance family include; Technical, financial monitoring and Evaluation,policy and advocacy and community systems strengthening.

Guiding principles

In conformity with its vision and mission statements, CHAU is guided by the following principles:

  1. Alignment to Global and National Priorities: CHAU will prioritize the actions that aim at reducing child mortality; improve maternal health and halt and reverse HIV incidence and reverse spread of malaria and tuberculosis. CHAU will further identify those actions that promote integration of health services.
  2. Evidence-based programming: Efforts will be made to capture and utilize information in the implementation of identified strategies. This will ensure that CHAU focuses on realizing its targets as well as adopting cost-effective resource utilization strategies.
  3. Human rights and equality: CHAU will promote and protect the human rights of every citizen in its implementation of the strategy. This will be achieved, among other things, by supporting capacity building of duty-bearers/service providers to meet their obligations and/or of rights-holders to claim their rights.
  4. Efficency and effectiveness in program delivery
  5. Gender Responsiveness and Transformative Approaches 
Mission,Vision & Goal

Our Vision: Healthy and Productive Communities in Uganda
Our Mission: To promote and support integrated health servcies, community system strengthening and health rights in Uganda
Goal: To contribute to the empowerment of the most vulnerable communities in delievering sustainable quality health services in Uganda

Core Values
  1. Transparency
  2. Accountability
  3. Integrity 
  4. Teamwork 
  5. Respect

BOARD MEMBERS

Dr. Stephen Watiti Board Chairman stephen.watiti@gmail.com
Janet NakutiMembernakutijanet@gmail.com
Deborah AlibuMemberalibudeborah@gmail.com
Dr. David SerukkaMemberdavidserukka@gmail.com)
Stanley NsubugaMembernsubugastanley22@gmail.com
Dora MusinguziMemberdoramusinguzi@uganet.org
Maliamu LutakomeMembermlutakome@gmail.com

STAFF MEMBERS

Dr. Richard Wotti WamimbiExecutive Directorrwamimbi@chau.co.ug
Dr. David BitiraM&E Manager/Acting Programme Directordbitira@chau.co.ug
Miriam MutegesiFinance and Grants Managermmutegesi@chau.co.ug
Vivian Nsubuga KigoziStaffvknsubuga@chau.co.ug
Susan NalubyaHR and Administration Managersnalubya@chau.co.ug
Patrick OjulongAdvocacy Specialistpojulong@chau.co.ug
Nakazzi Gracie Lubega Program Specialist: BCC & Community Engagementsgnakazzi@chau.co.ug
Jennifer Abalo OpokaKPIF Project Coordinatorjabalo@chau.co.ug
Golooba RonaldM&E Officerrgolooba@chau.co.ug
Babra Nandyose Admin Assistant / Front Desk Officerbnandyose@chau.co.ug
Earnest BukenyaIT specialistearnest@sybyl.com
Zainab AbwooliFinance Officerzabwooli@chau.co.ug
Mubeezi DavidProgram Assistant / Transportdmubeezi@chau.co.ug
Isaac MatsikoTAFU Coordinator Mubende Districtimatsiko@chau.co.ug
Ezekiel MuteteTAFU Coordinator Kyejonjo Districtemutete@chau.co.ug
Emmanuel Mafabi SabunyoTAFU – Coordinator Mityana